Back to Welkam page

The Anglican Church was brought to Melanesia by the first Bishop of New Zealand, George Augustus Selwyn, in 1849. It remained part of the Church of the Province of New Zealand until it became an ecclesiastical Province in its own right in 1975. It is now a fully indigenous and autonomous Province composed of eight dioceses.

The Church of Melanesia encompasses Solomon Islands, the Republic of Vanuatu and the French Territory of New Caledonia in the South Western Pacific.


1. Ysabel

2. Malaita

3. Central Solomons

4. Hanuato'o

5. Temotu

6. Banks and Torres

7. Vanuatu and New Caledonia

8. Central Melanesia

The Church of Melanesia is:-

Spreading the Good News of God's love in Jesus Christ

Being like Christ in thought, word and action

Worshipping God in spirit and truth

Responding to human needs in loving service.